Almost done.

Well, it has been almost 4 months since my last post.  It was a post about surgery preparation.  If you don’t follow my Facebook page, you have no idea what has happened so, let me give you a quick update.

Everything has changed.  Every single thing.

I don’t look the same, I don’t think the same.  I don’t really remember who I used to be but, I am an even better version of that person.  Chelle 2.0 if you will.

I had my surgery on January 30th, just like my doctors assured me, it went very well.  They basically removed my breast tissue and nipples and lymph nodes and then cut off my stomach and moved my stomach fat into my breasts… awesome… right?  Ha!  Not so much!  I would NEVER do this by choice… it was literally the most painful thing I have ever experienced and my experience was 100% uncomplicated… so, I can’t begin to imagine for those who do have complications.

I was in “Drain Jail” for 11 days… meaning I had drains, draining excess fluid from my body…  That is pretty interesting… having to walk around everywhere with these things hanging out of you full of blood.  I used a cheap waist apron to keep them in… I didn’t waste money on those expensive ones they try to sell you…. you don’t have them THAT long… the cheap apron worked perfectly.

16406672_1002108329933909_7479937169044685678_n

Everything I read online said it would take approximately 6 weeks until I felt better… and I kid you not… I was in pain until about 5 and a half weeks and still have some pain but, nothing unbearable.

My breast flaps healed so very well… instead of nipples, I now have perfect circles of grafted skin and healthy, CANCER FREE breasts.  I have a pretty flat stomach and a nice looking belly button with no more belly piercing scar (I hated that scar) because… they completely moved my skin… I still have the same belly button but, the skin it is attached to used to be much closer to my ribs.  I am sure I will be writing more about all of that soon enough.

So…  after healing from my surgery, it was time for chemo.  I had my first round of chemo on March 16, 2017.  To my surprise it wasn’t nearly as bad as I had anticipated… I have done worse to myself with alcohol in my younger years.  Around 15 days, after, my hair started to fall out, tons of hair; it was going everywhere.  This is how much came out in two days…
17626662_1041112779366797_2094013765972560677_nAnd… I still had hair! I have no idea how but, it was getting everywhere! In food, all over my house… so I had my friend come over and we shaved it. So, I am officially bald!

17492634_1041826609295414_6459288725902015945_o

Since then, I have had 2 more rounds of chemo which have both went pretty smoothly though each has been worse than the previous one.  After this last one though, oddly, I feel the strongest I have since this began.  My memory is shot but, I feel like I am coming back to the old me somehow.

One more round and this mama is free!!  I can’t wait!  I am so ready to LIVE my life as this new me.  This new person who grasps every single day like there is no tomorrow and I look forward to sharing it with you all!

One thought on “Almost done.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑